President ELIANA LA FERRARA Harvard Kennedy School

First Vice-President LARRY SAMUELSON Yale University

Second Vice-President NOBUHIRO KIYOTAKI Princeton University

Past President ROSA MATZKIN UCLA

Executive Vice-President BARTON LIPMAN Boston University

## COUNCIL

Africa YAW NYARKO New York University

ASIA
HANMING FANG
University of Pennsylvania
YUICHI KITAMURA
Yale University
DEBRAJ RAY
New York University
SATORU TAKAHASHI
The University of Tokyo
ROHINI SOMANATHAN
University of Delhi

**Australasia** RICHARD HOLDEN University of New South Wales

Europe and Other Areas
JAN EECKHOUT
Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona
PER KRUSELL
Stockholm University
JEAN-MARC ROBIN
Sciences Po and UCL
JEAN-CHARLES ROCHET
Toulouse School of Economics
MICHELE TERTILT
University of Mannheim
JOHN VAN REENEN
London School of Economics

**Latin America** AUREO DE PAULA University College London

North America
JOSEPH G. ALTONJI
Yale University
DIRK BERGEMANN
Yale University
STEVE BERRY
Yale University
AMY FINKELSTEIN
MIT
KATE HO
Princeton University
FRANCESCA MOLINARI
Cornell University
MONIKA PIAZZESI
Stanford University

EDITORS ECONOMETRICA Guido Imbens Stanford University

ELIE TAMER Harvard University

QUANTITATIVE ECONOMICS Stéphane Bonhomme University of Chicago

THEORETICAL ECONOMICS Simon Board UCLA

DATA EDITOR Joan Llull Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona Barcelona School of Economics

MONOGRAPH SERIES Serena Ng Columbia University

Alessandro Pavan Northwestern University

STAFF Lyn Hogan Executive Director

Mary Beth Bellando-Zaniboni Director of Publications

Ritu Johorey Technical Meetings Planner

## The Econometric Society

An International Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory in its Relation to Statistics and Mathematics

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
The Econometric Society Elects 42 New Fellows

October 11, 2024 (New Haven, CT)—The Econometric Society announces the election of 42 new Fellows from six regions of the world.

Founded in 1930, the Econometric Society is an international society for the advancement of economic theory in its relation to statistics and mathematics. The main activities of the Society are publication of the journals Econometrica, Quantitative Economics, and Theoretical Economics, publication of a research Monograph Series, organization annually of scientific meetings in six regions of the world, and a World Congress once every five years.

For more than 90 years, the Society has been electing Fellows. Candidates for Fellow are nominated by members, Fellows, and a Fellows Nominating Committee (FNC) and elected by the Society's active Fellows.

"Election as a Fellow of the Econometric Society is a recognition of important contributions to Economics. The Fellows represent the highest authority of the Society. I congratulate them on this great honor," said Eliana La Ferrara, President of the Econometric Society.

Since 1931, only 1,187 total fellows have been elected. The 42 new fellows bring this number to 1,229 elected. To date, 84 Econometric Society Fellows have won the Nobel Prize in Economics (the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel). Of these 84, 28 have been President of the Econometric Society.

Elected this year are candidates from the following regions:

Primary affiliation: 28 North America 11 Europe 1 Australasia 2 Latin America

Secondary affiliation:

1 Europe/Asia

1 North America/Africa

1 North America/Australasia

3 North America/Latin America

Of these, 26 are men and 16 are women.

Please <u>click here</u> for the full list of the 2024 elected fellows or see the document below. For a full list of *all* Society Fellows please <u>click here</u>.

The 2024 Fellows Nominating Committee consisted of Jan Eeckhout (chair), Mariacristina De Nardi, Marcela Eslava, Richard Holden, Yuichi Kitamura, Yaw Nyarko, and Nathan Nunn.

For more information about the Econometric Society, please go to <a href="www.econometricsociety.org">www.econometricsociety.org</a> or <a href="click here">click here</a> to view an informational video.

Press contact: Lyn Hogan Executive Director

203-247-2501 (cell); <a href="mailto:lhogan@econometricsociety.org">lhogan@econometricsociety.org</a>

Cowles Foundation Yale University 30 Hillhouse Avenue New Haven, CT 06511, USA Tel. 203-432-3697 www.econometricsociety.org

## The Econometric Society

An International Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory in its Relation to Statistics and Mathematics

The Society is pleased to announce the election of 42 new Fellows of the Econometric Society. The 2024 Fellows of the Econometric Society follow.

Jerome Adda, Bocconi University

Cristina Arellano, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis (Secondary affiliation: Latin America)

Costas Arkolakis, Yale University

John Asker, University of California, Los Angeles (Secondary affiliation: Australasia)

David Atkin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Paul Beaudry, University of British Columbia

Sascha O. Becker, University of Warwick and Monash University

Sandra E. Black, Columbia University

Estelle Cantillon, Universite Libre de Bruxelles

Alessandra Casella, Columbia University

Thomas Chaney, University of Southern California

David Dorn, University of Zurich

Janice Eberly, Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management

Kfir Eliaz, Tel Aviv University

Erica Field, Duke University

Andrea Galeotti. London Business School

Francisco Gallego, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile

Maitreesh Ghatak, London School of Economics (Secondary affiliation: Asia)

Olivier Gossner, CNRS - CREST; London School of Economics

Ayşe Ökten İmrohoroğlu, University of Southern California

Henrik Kleven, Princeton University

Kala Krishna, The Pennsylvania State University

Jeanne Lafortune, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile

Francesco Lippi, LUISS University; Einaudi Institute for Economics and Finance

Deborah J. Lucas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Annamaria Lusardi, Stanford University

N. Gregory Mankiw. Harvard University

Kalina Manova, University College London

Elena Manresa, New York University

Enrique G. Mendoza, University of Pennsylvania (Secondary affiliation: Latin America)

Ismael Y. Mourifie, Washington University in St Louis (Secondary affiliation: Africa)

Barry Nalebuff, Yale School of Management

Andrew Newman. Boston University

Efe A. Ok, New York University

Guillermo Ordonez, University of Pennsylvania

Maria Petrova, Universitat Pompeu Fabra

Mar Reguant, IAE-CSIC; Northwestern University

Diego Restuccia, University of Toronto

Andrés Rodríguez-Clare, University of California, Berkeley (Secondary affiliation: Latin America)

Andrea Weber, Central European University

Luigi Zingales, University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Gabriel Zucman, Paris School of Economics; University of California, Berkeley

Finally, the Society would like to express its gratitude to the members of the 2024 Fellows Nominating Committee: Jan Eeckhout (chair), Mariacristina De Nardi, Marcela Eslava, Richard Holden, Yuichi Kitamura, Yaw Nyarko, and Nathan Nunn.